Interesting Use of Motion in Painting

I did a google search for just “Moving Painting” and oddly, not a lot showed up. The top hit was a video for a Halloween prop that looks like a painting but actually has a loop of a portrait that moves. The result is very fascinating and well kept within the painterly look. It doesn’t look like it is computer generated; the effect is quite good. Although frightening, this was a really cool example of looking into that question of mine: “what does motion do to a painting?” Although I need to stay open to how motion can act as a generative tool to form new questions about the construction of the painting, I am still curious about the general relationship between motion and painting and how it is used by others.

 

The effect is similar to when I animated the Julius Caesar head sculpture. There is something magical and unclear that draws the attention and makes me want to look for extended periods of time. This warrants another reflection of this phenomenon and an attempt to apply my previously explained approach of the dual investigation; what is motion doing (1) to create new questions and perspectives about this painting (2)?

 

Another artist that I found doing moving paintings is Steve Matson. He creates these nature-themes paintings that he digitally edits to create the illusion of a living scene. His intentions are mostly expressive and therapeutic, but can serve as another place to exercise my approach.

Leave a comment